Executive Branch


The Executive Branch consists of all of the agencies and departments of the federal government, including our armed forces (which are part of the Department of Defense). The Executive Branch is controlled by the President, whose office is in the White House in Washington, DC.
The main function of the Executive Branch is to carry out the duties assigned to it in the Constitution and to carry out the laws and policies enacted by Congress. This includes directing our armed forces, conducting international affairs, and administering the many governmental departments and agencies (like, for example, the Department of Transportation and the Environmental Protection Agency).

The President serves a term of four years, at the end of which he or she may choose to run for a second four-year term in office. The Constitution limits a President to two full terms in office.

The President has the ability to veto any law that Congress passes - which would prevent that law from taking effect - but the President's veto can be overturned if 2/3 of the Senators and 2/3 of the Members of the House vote to override it.

The following web sites provide additional information about the U.S. Executive Branch: