Doyle, Markey Introduce Bill to Preserve Net Neutrality

February 27, 2018
Press Release
Washington – Today, Net Neutrality National Day of Action,Senator Edward J. Markey (D-MA) and Congressman Mike Doyle (D-PA-14) introduced a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution to overturn the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) partisan decision on net neutrality.
At a press conference this morning, Senator Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) and Congressman Mike Doyle (PA-14) announced the introduction of House and Senate resolutions to fully restore the 2015 Open Internet Order. The Senate CRA resolution of disapproval stands at 50 supporters, including Republican Senator Susan Collins (R-Maine). Rep. Doyle’s resolution in the House of Representatives (H.J.Res. 129) currently has 152 co-sponsors.
The FCC’s Open Internet Order prohibited internet service providers from blocking, slowing down, or discriminating against content online. Repealing these net neutrality rules could lead to higher prices for consumers, slower internet traffic, and even blocked websites. A recent poll showed that 83 percent of Americans do not approve of the FCC’s action to repeal net neutrality rules.
“President Trump and FCC Chairman Ajit Pai might want to end the internet as we know it, but we won’t agonize, we will organize,” said Senator Markey. “The grassroots movement to reinstate net neutrality is growing by the day, and we will get that one more vote needed to pass my CRA resolution. I urge my Republicans colleagues to join the overwhelming majority of Americans who support a free and open internet. The internet is for all – the students, teachers, innovators, hard-working families, small businesses, and activists, not just Verizon, Charter, AT&T, and Comcast and corporate interests.””
“We’ve been chomping at the bit to introduce this bill and launch the effort to overturn the FCC’s repeal of Net Neutrality,” said Congressman Doyle. “Finally, that day is here, and we’re roaring to go. Millions of Americans from across the political spectrum want to preserve Net Neutrality. They couldn’t convince three FCC Commissioners to do the right thing last year, but I believe their elected Senators and Representatives will be responsive if those millions of voters make their voices heard and promise to hold opponents of Net Neutrality accountable for their actions.”
A copy of the House CRA resolution can be found HERE.
Here are the names of the original cosponsors:  Alma S. Adams (NC-12), Karen Bass (CA-37), Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Ami Bera (CA-07),  Don S. Beyer, Jr. (VA-08),  Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Madeleine Bordallo (GU-Del), Brendan Boyle (PA-13), Anthony Brown (MD-04),  Julia Brownley (CA-26),  Cheri Bustos (IL-17), Mike Capuano (MA-07),  Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Andre Carson (IN-07),  Kathy Castor (FL-14), Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Judy Chu (CA-27),  David Cicilline (RI-01),  Katherine M. Clark (MA-05),  Yvette Clarke (NY-09),  William Lacy Clay (MO-01),  Steve Cohen (TN-09), Gerald Connolly (VA-11), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Joe Courtney (CT-02),  Charlie Crist (FL-13),  Joe Crowley (NY-14), Elijah Cummings (MD-07), Danny Davis (IL-07),  Susan Davis (CA-53), Peter DeFazio (OR-04),  Diana DeGette (CO-01),  John Delaney (MD-06),  Rosa DeLauro (CT-03),  Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11),  Debbie Dingell (MI-12),  Lloyd Doggett (TX-35),  Keith Ellison (MN-05),  Eliot Engel (NY-16),  Anna Eshoo (CA-18),  Adriano Espaillat (NY-13),  Elizabeth Esty (CT-05), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), John Garamendi (CA-03),  Jimmy Gomez (CA-34),  Raul Grijalva (AZ-03),  Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01),  Denny Heck (WA-10),  Brian Higgins (NY-26),  Jim Himes (CT-04), Jared Huffman (CA-02),  Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Bill Keating (MA-09), Joe Kennedy (MA-04), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Ruben Kihuen (NV-04), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Ron Kind (WI-03), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Ann Kuster (NH-02),  James R. Langevin (RI-02),  Rick Larsen ( WA-02), John Larson (CT-01), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14),  Al Lawson Jr. (FL-05), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Sander Levin (MI-09), John Lewis (GA-05), Daniel W. Lipinski (IL-03), Dave Loebsack (IA-02), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Nita Lowey (NY-17) Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01), Stephen Lynch (MA-08), Carolyn Maloney (NY-12), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Betty McCollum (MN-04),  Donald McEachin (VA-04), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Grace Meng (NY-06),  Gwen Moore (WI-04), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Jerrold Nadler (NY-10),  Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), Richard E. Neal (MA-01), Richard Nolan (MN-08), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-Del), Beto O’Rourke (TX-16), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Nancy Pelosi (CA-12), Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Collin Peterson (MN-07), Chellee Pingree (ME-01), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Jared Polis (CO-02), David Price (NC-04),  Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Kathleen M. Rice (NY-04),  Jacky Rosen (NV-03), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Tim Ryan (OH-13),  Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (MP-Del),  Linda Sanchez (CA-38), John Sarbanes (MD-03), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Adam Schiff (CA-28), Kurt Schrader (OR-05), Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (VA-03), José E. Serrano (NY-15), Terri Sewell (AL-07),  Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Albio Sires (NJ-08), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Adam Smith (WA-09), Darren Soto (FL-09), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Tom Suozzi (NY-03), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Mark Takano (CA-41), Mike Thompson (CA-05), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Norma J. Torres (CA-35), Niki Tsongas (MA-03), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Marc Veasy (TX-33), Nydia Velazquez (NY-07), Pete Visclosky (IN-01),  Tim Walz (MN-01), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Maxine Waters (CA-43), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Peter Welch (VT-AL), John Yarmuth (KY-03).
Last week, the FCC’s rule repealing net neutrality was published in the Federal Register, leaving 60 legislative days to seek a vote on the Senate floor on the CRA resolutions. In order to force a vote on the Senate resolution, Senator Markey will submit a discharge petition, which requires a minimum of 30 Senators’ signature. Once the discharge petition is filed, Senator Markey and Senate Democrats will demand a vote on the resolution.